Andromeda Metals Limited holds an exploration licence overthe historic Copper Triangle containing the towns of Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo on the Yorke Peninsula of South Australia.

The economic importance of this region to South Australia and the nation during the latter half of the 19th Cebtury was equivalent to what Olympic Dam is today.

After initially discovering copper ore in a wombat burrow in 1859, mining and smelting operation were developed quickly to a point where by 1866 Wallaroo had 36 furnaces in operation which consumed 10% of all of the coal produced from Newcastle in NSW.

In the census of 1871 it was found that 2% of the Australian population, or 20,000 people, lived in the Copper Triangle.

The Moonta Mining Company was the first mine in Australia to pay a million pounds in dividends. A 20,000 pound donation from the mine's owner led to the founding of the University of Adelaide.

Up until the closure of the mining and smelting operations in 1926, a total of over 300,000 tonnes of copper and 2 tonnes of gold were produced from the region.

For further information on the history of mining in this district, click on the "Moonta Mining Heritage" tab on the left of this page.

Back to top